Captain Electro’s Intergalactic Root Beer

Standard

Our Review: 8.5/10
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Visitor Rating: 6.8/10
(33 votes cast)

This root beer was discovered while we were on a cycling tour of Salt Spring Island, an island where artists, hippies, and the wealthy coexist under their common appreciation for ultra-left-wing politics and living the slow life.  What better way to ring in the new year than with a root beer?

The bottle is striking, with a great retro label featuring a robot flying in a spaceship.  The ingredients list is great too, with every ingredient, spice, and herb listed honestly and opening, rather than the usual “spices” or “flavour” so common in the soda world.

The pour was light brown, like iced tea.  No colours added, it seemed.  A gentle wintergreen aroma greeted me immediately.  I was getting excited.  This was going to be good.

And it was.  Oh, it was.  Captain Electro’s Intergalactic Root Beer had has a smooth flavour, tasting of wintergreen, rooty herbs, and vanilla.  A pleasant, not-too-strong aftertaste of liquorice lingered on the pallet before fading to a satisfying tingle-zip.  Despite the spice blend, it manages to avoid tasting like Christmas – a common problem with minty-vanilla-spice blends.  It was not too sweet, although sweet enough to satisfy my need for a treat.  Perhaps the only slight downside is that it did not have a strong flavour of what most of us know as “root beer”, although, in truth, the fact that they were able to almost achieve that flavour without resorting to flavouring agents is nothing short of miraculous.

If you see this root beer, buy it.  Cherish it.  It will make you realize that you have defined root beer incorrectly for your whole life.

http://phillipssoda.com

Captain Electro's Intergalactic Root Beer, reviewed by Aristophanes on 2014-01-26T21:37:56+00:00 rating 8.5 out of 10

9 thoughts on “Captain Electro’s Intergalactic Root Beer

  1. Marla

    I bought this rootbeer based on this review and was hopefully excited. But, I have to vehemently disagree. It’s my least favorite so far on our root beer journey. The color is off-putting, there’s no “root” in this beer, and the taste is way too medicinal for our liking. My husband didn’t even want to finish it, in order to taste the next beer (a Stewarts, which was fine)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
    • Ronnyber

      Totally agree. I poured 90 % of the bottle in the toilet. IMO it isn’t even Root Beer

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
    • Ian

      Try Thrifty’s if there is one in your area. I know there is a Thrifty’s in South Surrey. The island stores carry the root beer now and it’s in their current flyers that apply to the mainland stores as well.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  2. Ozzy

    I was at a local Vancouver pizza place, I saw this on the menu and had to try it. I thought it was one of the best root beers I had ever had

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  3. Beau

    I’ve tasted quite a few root beers. But this was by far the most distinctive one I’ve ever tasted.

    It’s a symphony of flavors, which lends itself very well to relaxed, slow consumption. And because there’s so much VARIETY in every sip, the flavor doesn’t get repetitive as you drink. The lighter color is very pleasant as well.

    This root beer has officially dethroned Boylan’s as my favorite root beer. I can’t wait to try making a root beer float with this.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  4. Dawn

    I tried this root beer in Victoria at a food truck behind the Royal museum it was indeed to strongest best tasting I have ever had.
    I to need to find some in the States as well hopefully someplace in Calif. Or Arizona
    Please email me if there is a place in the states to order.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *