Frostie Root Beer


Our Review: 3.0/10
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Visitor Rating: 6.9/10
(19 votes cast)

The most striking feature of Frostie’s is the hilarious cartoon Santa Claus on the bottle.  I wasn’t aware that Santa drank root beer, but whatever!  You know what they sell – Santa Sells!  It is packaged in a clear bottle, which is also rather unusual.  Like most root beers I’ve reviewed lately, the ingredients are terrible, with high fructose corn syrup used as the sweetener.

Frostie’s tastes like gumballs and is sickly sweet, with a sticky aftertaste.  There is no root beer flavour to speak of.  It is the sort of thing that might be served alongside a kid’s meal at a bad restaurant, and should be enjoyed through a straw.  It isn’t jarringly bad, but it definitely is not a quality root beer.

Made in Detroit.

Frostie Root Beer, reviewed by Aristophanes on 2011-07-08T02:00:08+00:00 rating 3.0 out of 10

11 thoughts on “Frostie Root Beer

  1. VolareDave

    I loved Frostie Root Beer when I was a kid in the late 70’s early 80’s and I still love it today.If everyone was the same it would be really boring.I could start listing every Root Beer I’ve ever had tasting and I’m sure you could find fault with them.You probably think that the best Root Beer is A&W or Mug.There are some very good low batch root beers out there,but I like Frostie,even if it’s the nostalgia.If you can’t taste any Root Beer flavor than maybe you should switch to something in a can and diet.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  2. fel

    Frostie is the best Root Beer! And its great as a root beer float! Good stuff. Frostie is the only one I like to drink and buy!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  3. Pupjr

    This is good root beer. No longer high fructose, just cane sugar. I rate it above Virgil’s, above goose island, above Boylans. No head to speak of but flavor is great, love the bottle label too, makes you think cold and refreshing before you ever open it. Recently saw it at jungle Jim’s in Cincinnati for 2.99 a four pack.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  4. JohnO

    We had a root beer tasting party last week, and Frostie was the top rated one. There were about 30 people at the party. A few days later, my family repeated the taste test, but with a few others added in. It didn’t win, but placed highly.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  5. Jacob W.

    I enjoy this root beer. It’s now packaged in a brown bottle with the same goofy Santa. One plus is that they now use pure can sugar as the sweetener instead of high fructose corn syrup. Unfortunately, the rest of the ingredients are disappointing, mostly made up of artificial ingredients. The main reason I enjoy it is that it has a smooth flavor. Also, in my opinion, it’s the best root beer that is readily available to me locally. Besides the famous Pops of Route 66 in Oklahoma which sells it nearby, Rudy’s Country Store does as well, Rudy’s being about .75 miles from me. It trumps IBC and the rest of the generic root beers sweetened with HFCS. Is it the best? No. Serve it as chilled as possible, however, and it will be a root beer you can enjoy.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  6. Mark Spangler

    Loved it as a kid and still do today. It is made with cane sugar, is smooth, creamy but a nice wintergreen bit. This soda has an almost soapy aftertaste, which I find appealing. A & W is still tops of the giganto brands and 1919 is a top-notch smaller brew. Never had Boylan’s but I’ve heard nice things. Frostie, however, is still tops in my book. Love the goofball Santa too!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    • KnyteOwl

      As far as mass-produced root beers go, I would tend to agree. Frostie is an affordable, smooth, and easy drinking root beer with good (though unsophisticated) flavor that doesn’t offend the palette. They’re also a popular brand dating back to 1939 that lots of Americans have a strong nostalgic attachment to. The reviewer discredits himself, and the entire site by being so harsh on such a popular and iconic brand. He sounds like a snob who is spoiled on obscure, and expensive gourmet products by ignoring the fact that the vast majority of root beer available is mass produced root beer-flavored cola, and not “true” root beer.

      Since his introduction, ‘Frostie the elf’ has always been a popular and iconic mascot. For a supposed “expert”, the reviewer comes across sounding snobbish, ignorant, and uninformed referring to him as ‘Santa’ when Frostie is at most, only vaguely reminiscent of Santa. Sorry, but I don’t buy for a nanosecond that this reviewer is any sort of expert. Even when doing negative reviews, real experts try not to offend fans in their audience so as not to risk losing readership. That’s why this entire site is an unfunny joke, and this supposed ‘expert’ is just a voice in the wilderness who’s opinionated, (at times) offensive and unprofessional reviews are unlikely to sway anyone.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  7. David Garcia

    You can still find Frostie Root Beer at Big Lot! Tastes good and I remember buying in a bottle in the ’70s but I never saw it in a can.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  8. KnyteOwl

    To every commentator on this unfunny joke of a site, the mascot on the label isn’t Santa, that’s Frostie the elf. He doesn’t look even remotely like any depiction of Santa I’ve ever seen, and you all make yourselves sound like idiots saying stuff like that.

    With that out of the way, I will be the first to admit Frostie is very average and pedestrian in terms of flavor, and relies heavily on name recognition, nostalgia, and brand legacy to drive sales. Nonetheless, I would still rate them higher than brands like A&W, Stewart’s, Dad’s, Mug, Barq’s, and Dr. Brown’s, and just below brands like IBC.

    All mass produced root beers are essentially root beer-flavored colas in the sense that they are not a brewed product like true root beer. Micro brewed, super premium root beers like Virgil’s, Stubborn, and alcoholic root beers fall into a different category because they are brewed products, typically use all (or mostly) organic ingredients, don’t compete in the same price bracket, are not mass-produced, and target aficionados who are willing to pay a premium price for a premium product.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *