Frostie Root Beer

frosties
Standard

Our Review: 3.0/10
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Visitor Rating: 6.9/10
(18 votes cast)

The most striking feature of Frostie’s is the hilarious cartoon Santa Claus on the bottle.  I wasn’t aware that Santa drank root beer, but whatever!  You know what they sell – Santa Sells!  It is packaged in a clear bottle, which is also rather unusual.  Like most root beers I’ve reviewed lately, the ingredients are terrible, with high fructose corn syrup used as the sweetener.

Frostie’s tastes like gumballs and is sickly sweet, with a sticky aftertaste.  There is no root beer flavour to speak of.  It is the sort of thing that might be served alongside a kid’s meal at a bad restaurant, and should be enjoyed through a straw.  It isn’t jarringly bad, but it definitely is not a quality root beer.

Made in Detroit.

Frostie Root Beer, reviewed by Aristophanes on 2011-07-08T02:00:08+00:00 rating 3.0 out of 10

6 thoughts on “Frostie Root Beer

  1. VolareDave

    I loved Frostie Root Beer when I was a kid in the late 70’s early 80’s and I still love it today.If everyone was the same it would be really boring.I could start listing every Root Beer I’ve ever had tasting and I’m sure you could find fault with them.You probably think that the best Root Beer is A&W or Mug.There are some very good low batch root beers out there,but I like Frostie,even if it’s the nostalgia.If you can’t taste any Root Beer flavor than maybe you should switch to something in a can and diet.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  2. fel

    Frostie is the best Root Beer! And its great as a root beer float! Good stuff. Frostie is the only one I like to drink and buy!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  3. Pupjr

    This is good root beer. No longer high fructose, just cane sugar. I rate it above Virgil’s, above goose island, above Boylans. No head to speak of but flavor is great, love the bottle label too, makes you think cold and refreshing before you ever open it. Recently saw it at jungle Jim’s in Cincinnati for 2.99 a four pack.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  4. JohnO

    We had a root beer tasting party last week, and Frostie was the top rated one. There were about 30 people at the party. A few days later, my family repeated the taste test, but with a few others added in. It didn’t win, but placed highly.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  5. Jacob W.

    I enjoy this root beer. It’s now packaged in a brown bottle with the same goofy Santa. One plus is that they now use pure can sugar as the sweetener instead of high fructose corn syrup. Unfortunately, the rest of the ingredients are disappointing, mostly made up of artificial ingredients. The main reason I enjoy it is that it has a smooth flavor. Also, in my opinion, it’s the best root beer that is readily available to me locally. Besides the famous Pops of Route 66 in Oklahoma which sells it nearby, Rudy’s Country Store does as well, Rudy’s being about .75 miles from me. It trumps IBC and the rest of the generic root beers sweetened with HFCS. Is it the best? No. Serve it as chilled as possible, however, and it will be a root beer you can enjoy.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *