Hank’s Gourmet Philidalphia Recipe Root Beer

Hank's Gourmet Root Beer
Standard

Our Review: 7.0/10
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Visitor Rating: 8.2/10
(24 votes cast)

This thick and creamy root beer is tasty and satisfying, but drinks more like a milkshake than a refreshing soda.  It has stong aromas of cream soda and vanilla.  It tastes like a root beer float, almost as if dollop of vanilla ice cream is hiding on the bottom. It is very sweet, almost to the point of overpowering the other flavours, and it has a slightly cloying aftertaste that sticks in the throat.  It should also be noted that the bottle is curvacious and pleasant to hold.  If you are looking for a traditional creamy root beer with a thick fulfilling body and sweet desert-like characteristics, look no further.

Hank's Gourmet Philidalphia Recipe Root Beer, reviewed by Aristophanes on 2008-10-15T05:00:00+00:00 rating 7.0 out of 10

16 thoughts on “Hank’s Gourmet Philidalphia Recipe Root Beer

  1. Brett Yoncak

    Hanks! Greatest root beer I’ve ever tasted. I now refuse to drink and other brand.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  2. Priscilla

    I first encountered this root beer at Bloom’s Grocery store in Fairfax, VA. I am very fortunate to have stumbled upon this root beer. It is absolutely amazing, but because it’s located about 15 miles from my residence, I only pick it up on really special occasions. The store barely keeps them in their deli section because this product is so popular.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  3. Eric

    I think Hank’s is one of the best root beers ever made, and it is hard to find anything better.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  4. Andrew I.

    I just bought a four-pack at my local Army Commissary. What a wonderful and pleasant experience. The fact that it is sweetened with cane sugar, and NOT HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP sealed the deal for me. This stuff is just good.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  5. zombco19

    very tastey rootbeer, but at a $1.50 a bottle, a bit overpriced. i will say if you have a “dollar general” store nearby, their “clover valley” brand is an extremely close replacement. not cane sugar unfortunately, but the flavor is almost identical with just just a little less sweetness. and a twelve pack is the same price as two bottles of hank’s.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -5 (from 5 votes)
    • KnyteOwl

      If you want to dabble in store brands, unless it’s been reformulated since the last time I tried it, I personally feel like Walmart has a very respectable store brand root beer. I’ve compared it against other store brands from Kroger, Ingles, and Food City, and to me, it’s the best of the batch as store brands go. It can have a bit of a tinny taste because it only comes in cans, but I would still rate it above the likes of Laura Lynn (Ingle’s), Big K (Kroger), Food Club (Food City), Shasta, Faygo, Fanta, and Dr. Brown’s (even though Dr. Brown’s isn’t really a store brand) and roughly equal to brands like Mug (to me, Mug isn’t terrible, but only slightly better than store brands). Some of these grocery stores maybe regional chains you may not have heard of (depending on where you live).

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  6. Rodney Meckley

    We came across it in a gas station in Nebraska.It has a wonderful smooth, refreshing taste! We love the taste and hope we can get it in Kansas!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    • thechief

      It can be found at hardware hanks, in MN the only place to find it is hardware stores.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. Larry Camp

    I bought Hank’s Root Beer as well as Virgil’s to do a side by side comparison test. I liked them both but after several swishing around in my mouth taste tests I will have to say that Hank’s won my vote. I think its the best Root Beer I have ever drank. I am going to buy some more Hank’s Root Beer that’s for sure.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  8. John

    I’ve had Hank’s in the Philadelphia airport, while driving from Boston to KC, and at a local restaurant. The review nails it: way too sweet for my liking. I’d take it over Mug or A & W, but that’s really not saying much. A step down from IBC in my book.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  9. Bryan

    One of my top three root beers. We discovered it while in Philadelphia. It’s not available many places out west, and none in the Rockies area. I have to order it by mail. 🙂 I also adore Hank’s Black Cherry Soda, almost more than the root beer.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  10. Leslie Egan

    Very good. I like sweet so it works for me. Have to have it in a glass with ice. A must have for the summer. Also nice that it has cane sugar in it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *