Johnnie Ryan Root Beer

Johnnie Ryan Root Beer
Standard

Our Review: 9.5/10
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Visitor Rating: 6.7/10
(32 votes cast)

This root beer is ambrosia.  We were excited to try Johnnie Ryan Root Beer because of its interesting bottle and because it is brewed close to home, and we were blown away by its perfect blend of aromas, flavours, carbonation and sugar.  The nifty transparent bottle shows off it’s pleasing tea colour, which is lighter and clearer than any other root beer we’ve tried.  Aromas of spice and vanilla greets you when you uncap the bottle.  The taste is clear, smooth and creamy, with delicate carbonation that tingles the tongue.  It has a satisfyingly full body of perfectly blended flavours that invites the consumer to guess the secret formula with every sip.  The sweetness, which comes from cane sugar, is well balanced.

This root beer should be imbibed on its own, not with a meal.  Drink it directly from the bottle – the frost that forms on the outside of the transparent bottle is pleasing.

Johnnie Ryan is produced in Niagara Falls, New York.  Visit their website at http://www.johnnieryan.com/.

Johnnie Ryan Root Beer, reviewed by Aristophanes on 2009-09-18T02:10:02+00:00 rating 9.5 out of 10

11 thoughts on “Johnnie Ryan Root Beer

  1. Big Al

    5/5 This is by far the best root beer that I’ve ever tasted. The root beer flavor is wonderful and there never is an after taste or bite. It is very hard to find. The only two places that Iknow that have it are Tops in Hamburg, NY and Wegman’s in West Chester, PA.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  2. Shawn

    J, it’s not available in Alberta. Big Al, it’s available all around the 716 area code. 🙂

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Willy

    This root beer is the BEST where can I find some. Are you guys just local or have you a national outlet. I would be very intersted in pu

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  4. Fitz

    I found it at Wegman’s in Warrington, PA. It’s very similar to Hank’s, which just might be my favorite root beer.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  5. Nancy

    This root beer is another ok. It is a little to sickly sweet and a little to weak on root beer flavor.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  6. Root beer fanatic

    Found this root beer (a new acquisition for this Mom & Pop’s store) in SF at Eezy Breezy store on West Portal. $2.35/bottle. They carry 20 brands of root beer!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. Steve Fye

    You’ve said this was brewed close to home. Are you just plugging this root beer for friends?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • KnyteOwl

        Which means absolutely nothing since your readers themselves report it as an obscure and hard-to-find brand which the majority of us will never get to try. Do we get to find out next it costs $20 per 4 pack?

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *