Maine Root Root Beer

Standard

Our Review: 7.5/10
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Visitor Rating: 7.6/10
(14 votes cast)

Maine Root has produced a competent, well-balanced root beer.  The bottle is nice with a beautiful label.  There is an excellent “pop” of released carbonation when the bottle is opened, and it pours into a fairly stable foam.  This delicious root beer is smooth and creamy, with vanilla, clove, anise, nutmeg and a hint of candycane.  It is quite sweet, but not cloying, and there is a pleasant, creamy aftertaste.  This perfectly balanced root beer is comforting and even tastes good when not ice cold, which makes it an excellent choice when curled up by the fire.

Maine Root is produced by two enthusiastic brothers who are passionate about the grassroots rootbeer movement.  Visit their website at http://www.maineroot.com.

Maine Root Root Beer, reviewed by Aristophanes on 2009-11-17T15:04:32+00:00 rating 7.5 out of 10

14 thoughts on “Maine Root Root Beer

  1. john

    ohh how i just love rootbeer,,,i wish i could order a six pac of all rotbeers so i can see which ones i like better,,how much fun would that be,,,,yummmmmmy….

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Zeb

    Maine Root is my new favorite…not overpowering and just enough carbonation, not full of additives either.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Prinz...

    Good quality Root Beer…Not as sweet as others, perhaps too much so…Flavour is a touch weak, with a wintergreen overtone…Decent RB, but not one of my favourites…

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Lassie

    As grossly overpriced as it is meh-tasting. What is IN this stuff? It’s not root beer at ALL. A strange minty undertaste, blah and watery. I’ll never buy this swill again.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    • KnyteOwl

      With them being ridiculously overpriced ($8.00 per 4 pack??) because of only being available in foo foo specialty stores, I haven’t had a chance to try Maine Root root beer yet. But this is par for the course with Aristophanes. He comes across as an elitist reviewer who is spoiled on, and biased towards hard root beers, and gourmet brands which are too often inaccessible to, or not affordable for a majority of his readers.

      For the record, I am by no means implying that he shouldn’t review hard root beers, or gourmet brands (that you’ll have to drive miles out of your way to find, and be horrendously overcharged for by specialty stores), but that he does his audience a disservice by over focusing on them when there is probably still a dozen or more mainstream brands that he’s ignored, or thumbed his nose at. Even mass-produced brands do still have their own unique flavor profiles, and since they are so much more readily available/affordable, and therefore represent the majority of the product his audience is drinking, his reviews would have greater reach, and be more relevant by helping people decide which are the better brands. That may very well be his intent, but I would hate to imagine how many people he alienates with the elitist and condescending tone he adopts when reviewing mass-produced brands.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. Jmangelo

    It all depends on which flavor you choose. But I love all Maine Root Root beer. I would do anything for another blueberry Maine Root root beer.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  6. Ryan

    Not bad. I like the minty aftertaste. A bit mounthwashy – but a really amazing mouthwash.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. John

    Maine Root is a relatively local brew for me, so I’m lucky: most of our grocery stores carry it. It’s a cut above IBC, perhaps just a touch below Virgil’s. There’s a noticeable wintergreen flavor–unique to this root beer.

    Plus, the owners are nice: having tasted Maine Root for the first time, I e-mailed them and got a polite response: “Yes, there is indeed wintergreen in our root beer.” Pretty cool.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. Jon Dyer

    Your root beer is about as tasteless as Lady Gaga’s evening wear. Maybe you should go inorganic and add some artificial flavoring! Just saying.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
    • admin

      How can you say such a thing! A gown made of meat surely is packed with flavour.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  9. christine graveson

    I juat had my first bottle of Maine rootbeer and I give it a big thumbs up. It reminds me of the homemade root beer we made when we were kids. great job.It reminded me of the old A & W root beer

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  10. Michael

    Maine Root Beer did not taste like Root Beer to me. It had a very weak Root Beer taste and it had a very strong sugary taste. I will be moving on and looking for another natural Root Beer Soda.

    I will try Virgil’s Root Beer and the Whole Foods brand next.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *