Shasta Root Beer

shasta
Standard

Our Review: 7.0/10
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Visitor Rating: 6.1/10
(9 votes cast)

Shasta root beer has the distinction of being one of the only canned root beers that I would consider drinkable.  It has a very strong root beer aroma when opened – always a good sign.  There is no metallic taste, which is rare for tinned brews, and excellent carbonation.  While Shasta lacks complexity, it makes up for it in creaminess.  In many ways it is like A&W root beer – creamy, satisfying, and artificial (it is sweetened with high-fructose corn syrup).

One thing to note is that the can design is dreadful.  The design is ugly, and the can is plastered with tacky claims, such as “Very Low in Sodium!” (no mention of Dangerously High in Sugar!), and “No caffeine!” (is any root beer caffeinated?).  Don’t let this deter you though – the next time you see Shasta in a pop can dispensing machine, buy it!

Shasta Root Beer, reviewed by Aristophanes on 2011-05-27T05:00:00+00:00 rating 7.0 out of 10

5 thoughts on “Shasta Root Beer

  1. zoetropia

    Barq’s-regular-rootbeer-has-caffeine.”Barq’s-has-bite!”,however-the-diet-version-does-not.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  2. GUMMIBEAR

    I REALLY LIKE SHASTA ROOTBEER. SHASTA ROOTBEER RELAX’S ME SO I HAVE TO DRINK IT ALL THE TIME!!! BUT MY QUESTION TO YOU IS DOES SHASTA ROOTBEER COME FROM MOUNT SHASTA OR IS MOUNT SHASTA ADVERTISING SHASTA ROOTBEER TO GET MORE CUSTOMORS. ANSWER AT MY EMAIL. GUMMIBEAR317@GMAIL.COM P.S. NO CAPS OR SPACES.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Matty

    everytime i go over my grandparents they always have rootbeer and recently she bought shasta and i instantly fell in love, its creamy and taste like vanilla and its really good i highly reccomend it

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Bryan

    20 years ago, Shasta used to have really good, really cheap pop. Now, both the flavor and price are cheap. They went for the corn syrup, changed the flavoring, and now Shasta Root Beer is a shell of it’s former self. It’s mostly just sweet and doesn’t have much flavor. What there is tasted artifical.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *