Teddy’s Root Beer

Standard

Our Review: 2.0/10
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Visitor Rating: 2.0/10
(1 votes cast)

Don’t drink this root beer!  The bottle is emblazoned with several claims and slogans, all of them either misleading or simply false.  I will address each individually:

“Caffeine Free” – Most root beer is caffeine free.  Why not add “pesticide free”, “BPA free” and “chicken tumour free” while you’re at it?

“Only from the finest ingredients” – high fructose corn syrup, caramel color, flavour, …

“Hand Crafted” – Meaning what?  That the shift worker in coveralls used a fork lift to reload the high fructose corn syrup hopper?

“America’s Favorite” – Perhaps the owner’s daughter’s name is America?

The bottle was flat, with no carbonation, and no head formation upon pouring.  It was very dark and opaque, suggesting a concentrated flavour, so I was surprised to discover it had no aroma whatsoever.  The taste reminded me of a melted freezie – alarmingly sweet, syrupy, and cloying.  I did detect a creamy vanilla taste, which is the only reason this root beer gets a 2/10 instead of a 0.  After drinking a third of the bottle, I dumped the rest down the drain.

 

Some more information:

– Made in Everett, Washington.  This is also where Boeing assembles the 747 jumbo jet. Perhaps the aviation lubricant and root beer lines were accidentally crossed during bottling?

– I acknowledge that the bottle may have been flat.  To be fair, if I see Teddy’s again I will give it another try.  Reluctantly.

Teddy's Root Beer, reviewed by Aristophanes on 2011-06-15T01:26:48+00:00 rating 2.0 out of 10

45 thoughts on “Teddy’s Root Beer

  1. harold souza

    teddy root been is the best tasting root beer out there , when you pour it out go slowly its fooms up a lot , its nice and creamy any rich , a new taste in fine root beer try it and you will like it

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. John

    This is my favorite Root Beer at the moment. Love at first taste. Your review is very surprising.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Doug O'Donnell

    I’m 66 year old and I’ve been drinking root beer since I was a young boy. At age 15 my first job was working for an A & W Root Beer stand in Madison Wisconins. I’ve always loved root beer and for the first time since I was a teenager I have found an outstanding root beer in Teddy’s. This root beer has a unique taste and is the best tasting root beer I’ve had since my childhood. Keep it up

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. marco jordan

    I completely disagree and you must of purchased an expired bottle. 2 months ago I purchased Teddy’s on sale and after you stick a bottle in freezer for 1 hour it is the most refreshing drink you could imagine. Im swimming in buubles after only 1 gulp. Bottle does not last long because I keeping on nipping at it. A/W mug and the rest are OK, but Teddys is the best. Im stopping by grocery store after work in

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. S. from NH

    I saw this ina local Shaws supermarket, and, being a sucker for new rootbeer brands, I bought a bottle, plus a 6 pack of IBC and a bottle of A&W. Teddy’s was the clear winner for flavor. The carbonation was very light, and the rootbeer was sweet with a short lived but pleasant aftertaste. I have since bought 24 liters, and I have loved every last drop! Unfortunately, it does not seem that Shaws is carrying this brand any longer :/

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Jason

      Shaws still carries Teddys root beer in ma. Just ask for the grocery manager. He can order you a case. Like most supermarkets. If a particular item does not sell in a area,corporate will discontinue at some stores. You might also try calling another store close to you. They might still sell it. Hope that helps you out.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. Ruben

    They got these at Winco Foods tried it and it was really good. However they aren’t in a cooler in the store, so put it in the refrigerator before drinking, to get a better taste.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. Ron D.

    Received a free bottle at A Albertson’s grocery store and will buy it next time shopping. A real good tasting root beer.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. Dave

    Please please please try Teddy’s again. You must have had a bad bottle. I discovered Teddy’s root beer a few months ago. I was on my way to pick up a take and bake pizza when I got the craving for root beer to go with it. I found Teddy’s in a big chain grocery store for $1.29 for a one liter plastic bottle tucked in with all of the expensive root beers. I thought that for the price I couldn’t go wrong. This stuff is amazing! Just the right amount of bite and a ton of flavor. I grew up in the 60’s on the old A&W root beer. Shoot, all root beers were all amazing way back then. I stop by that store and buy a couple of bottles of Teddy’s every time I go for pizza now.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  9. SevereIdaho

    Folks, the reviewer got a bad bottle. This stuff is amazing. I just cracked one open and I am blown away. This root beer is by far the best I have tried to date. It has this spicyness at the end and a super rooty taste. The carbonation is perfect. If the reviewer got the bottle I bought today, this review would be a 10/10. Go spend a buck on this root beer and I gaurantee you will avoid those better known brands. I am an instant Teddy’s fan.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  10. Uuuhhhh...

    To anyone here who said this is a good root beer. You haven’t tried a real root beer. Go have a virgil’s root beer.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • have had virgils many times and never really liked it.. love how many opinions there are about root beer.

      my favorite is hanks!

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  11. Curly

    This is a really good Root Beer the main post above is just the ramblings of someone that wishs they had started their own Company … A&W Root Beer is lighter in flavor than this root beer … I found it to be Just right and I am glad I bought 2 bottles and not just one … have a great day and give this a try

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  12. Curly

    I am still drinking this 1st Bottle right now and it almost tastes like the Root Beer Barrel Candies … that is how strong the flavor is to me …. try it yourself

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  13. garry

    Best root beer out there. My great uncle (in his 70’s) used to make his own some 45 years ago and teddys is about as close to home made as you can get…brings back a lot of good memories

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  14. PrideOfRoot

    If you want to taste a root beer like the one your child was drinking at their Halloween school party, then this root beer is for you. If not, stay away, far away!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  15. Nicholas Moran

    I don’t understand why you cannot keep your root beer in the Sherms thunderbird stores and the bi-mart here in Roseburg. Write and tell me what your problem is so I can tell these stores so they will have a handle on why you are so negligent in keeping product on the shelves.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  16. Bill

    I’ve bought Teddy’s for about a year now. I really do not care for the foam, but the reason I won’t purchase Teddy’s any more, they have cut the size from 34oz to 26oz now. By the way did I mention it is still the same price.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  17. Patti ~

    Not a happy Teddy’s Root Beer Customer. It went from a 34 oz bottle to a 26 oz bottle and is the same price 🙁 It’t not that good.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Nick

      What’s your point exactly? It’s still a bigger AND cheaper bottle that any of the other ones out there.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  18. Sher

    What’s with all the whiners? I love Root Beer, and Teddy’s is pretty darn good, with a good strong root beer flavor and hint of smooth vanilla. Granted, it’s not Virgils, which is probably the best brewed bottled root beer and very complex. But for the price, you can’t go wrong with Teddys.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  19. Brian

    I love Teddy ‘s Root Beer I’m not much of a soda drinker but when I do drink soda it is Definitley Root Beer. And actually I have tried the Virgil’s Brand, and to me it’s good but nothing extra special. I do love Teddy’s Root Beer though!!!!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  20. Charlotte jones

    Best root beer that I have tasted. I have search all over near my town, so now I’m on the Internet trying to find where I can purchase some, I would travel far for this root beer. So people if you haven’t tried this root beer please do, it is the best.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  21. Tom Moody

    WOW long time sence I have tasted a Root Beer this good !! Love it looking where to buy it cases at a time.
    Grew up in the 40-50’s drank lots of ” socalled Root Beer” but this is old fasion Root Beer. Those who don’t like it are free to drink something else, moore for me +++++= Ya….

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  22. Zach

    Found this at Tractor Supply in Dallas, Ga. Really tasty! It DOES taste like the little root beer barrel candies!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  23. Smilz

    We just tried Teddy’s Cream Soda and Root Beer and had to pour both of them out. They were horrible.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  24. Root beer is like wine, beer,politics and women..

    Everyone has a favorite and hardly anyone ever really agrees on any of em. 🙂

    My personal best choice is Hanks. Think its the best, although A&W is pretty good for factory root beer.. Tried Sprecher root beer and liked it, but it was so heavy.. made me feel sick.. But hanks is hard to find in northern va.

    As far as Teddy’s.. its decent, it’s not the best and it’s not the worst but it’s drinkable, athough i can’t drink all 26 oz at one time. And it goes bad quickly, so it’s kind of a waste.. if they switched to cane sugar, maybe it would be better. we need real sugar in our root beer.. I’d probably drink a&w before teddy’s.. meh..

    I’m in VA.. anyone every have old dominion root beer? Pretty good cane sugar rb.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  25. Tom

    I discovered Teddy’s at a $1 Store several years ago and again recently at Albertson’s. It’s one of the best root beers I’ve tasted since the late 1970s when the FDA determined sassafras or sarsaparilla was a carcinogen and had it removed from root beer in the U.S. This was the time when Hire’s closed shop, reformulated, and reopened as Barq’s. Most root beer bottlers replaced the suspected carcinogen with wintergreen, and root beer hasn’t been the same since. Teddy’s uses vanilla instead of wintergreen and produces a superior product. My only complaint with Teddy’s is finding stores the consistently carry it in So. CA.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  26. Matthew Martin

    I love root beer and have tried many different brands. I found Teddy’s at TSC yesterday, took it home and threw it in the fridge. Took it with me to work today and it had a very strong taste and smell of plastic! NOT GOOD! Thankfully it was only a $1

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  27. BobbyR

    I live in Everett WA where Teddy’s is made and can’t understand why it’s so hard to find. Fred Meyer had the root beer, cream soda and orange sodas here for about a month at a buck a bottle. We love it. It far surpasses ANY of the big brand root beers. I’m a big fan of IBC, but Teddy’s blows it away.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  28. STEVE WHITE

    VERY GOOD TASTING ROOT BEER. I PURCHASED 6 LITER BOTTLES FROM TSC, TRACTOR SUPPLY COMPANY IN NORCO, CA.. ONLY A BUCK EACH PLUS THE TAXES. ALL TSCs CARRY ALL THEIR FLAVORS. Steve White

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Leica

      I read the label… HFC is not “All natural to me” I poured it out into my compost bin… Hope I didn’t poison the worms

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  29. Leica

    I largely agree with the review. There is nothing “Old Fashioned” about High Fructose Corn Syrup…
    It smells & tastes like plastic

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  30. Tommy ford

    Its ok I found it at shop n save in Illinois for ,89cents it taste creamy it didn’t taste like a can like most root beer does

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  31. This is not good. The problem with generic soda that I am noticing (in particular root beers and ginger ales) is that they are adding the requisite amount of sugar (always in the form of crummy high fructose corn syrup)…but on top of that they are adding sucralose and acesulfame potassium (Ace K). Why are they adding an artificial sweeteners on top of the 22g of high fructose corn syrup and throwing an already “average” tasting product into the category of having a “diet” after-taste?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  32. David Peden

    For those looking for Teddy’s Root Beer, I have found it in Albertson’s and Safeway stores in Oregon.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  33. Sue Crocker

    The BEST root Beer I’ve ever tasted –
    Teddy”s Root Beer – I bought it at Bi-Mart, but they don’t have it now – where else can you buy it?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *