Virgil’s Micro Brewed Root Beer

Virgil's Root Beer
Standard

Our Review: 8.0/10
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Visitor Rating: 8.8/10
(14 votes cast)

Virgil’s certainly comes with a lofty reputation, and after the drum-roll died down, we came to the conclusion that it really is pretty darn good.  It seems to represent a little bit of every quality that is good in the root beers we have tried.  Virgil’s is dry with an earthy mineral-sand flavour, as if spiced with a hint of Essence of Bauxite.  It is a little tinny, well carbonated, sharp and fresh, although it also has a slightly rich, cloying aftertaste that will satisfy lovers of creamier root beers.  We think that the flavours of “nutmeg, imported anise and wintergreen” claimed on the bottle could be stronger, but we aren’t complaining.  Overall, this root beer lives up to its reputation – excellent work guys.

One other interesting observation – why does the man on the bottle looks disturbingly like Jesus when viewed at a distance?

Virgil's Micro Brewed Root Beer, reviewed by Aristophanes on 2009-03-06T20:48:23+00:00 rating 8.0 out of 10

34 thoughts on “Virgil’s Micro Brewed Root Beer

  1. Willdub

    Funny taste and way overpriced. It goes closer to the bottom of my list than the top.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  2. PapaJack

    The worst ever. Taste like diet coke. Real crap. Sold in overpriced yuppie stores…..World Market…..or something like that.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  3. Yates

    Heard good and bad about this brew. Very decent brew in my opinion. At 3.99 a four pack reasonably priced too.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  4. Silver

    I really like this, but I have always liked strong flavored root beers. It may not be good for those who like a less spicy flavor profile.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  5. rick

    killer rootbeer. best ive tasted. very smooth with just a hint of bite. would go the extra mile for it. drink it as cold as you can get it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  6. Root Beer Lover

    I quite simply cannot understand the kudos heaped on this root beer. The taste reminded me of heavily spiced Christmas cookies(though not in a good way, like Myers Avenue Red Root Beer). Now I can understand why they brag about the licorice, anise and wintergreen on the bottle: they are overpowering, to say the least. This is a root beer for those wanna be connoisseurs who think they are cool because they like to talk about its “complex wintergreen notes” or its “stunning licorice finish”. Reminds me of those wine reviews that talk about “hints of tobacco and chocolate”.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  7. loki

    I thought it was the best I ever tasted! I need to find a plce near me that sells it!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
  8. Donna

    I picked this up for my son when I was on vacation because I knew he loved root beer. I never heard of it, but the advertising caught my eye. My son hated it because he said it tasted like licorice. I, who never cared much for root beer, fell in love with it! I’m hooked and looking for a place where I can buy it close to home. Best soft drink I ever had! Now I crave it!!! So much flavor!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  9. Kevin> SISU

    this root beer is all Natural and has a Great taste.!!!! thumbs UP. say yeah to VIRGIL’S

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  10. Ksand

    Nice, well rounded flavor. Refreshing, light yet still offers the traditional Taste of Root Beer

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  11. Darrel

    I have sampled over 50 different root beers V irgils is a joke waaay over priced dont waste your money

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  12. Arif

    Over priced and very watered down, walk away. I actually feel like i deserve a refund. A good micro brew is sarnacs rootbeer.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  13. Erik In Phoenix, Az

    Found some at the Ace Hardware store here in Phoenix on my way out. I’ve never heard of it or tried it, heard from the cashier that it wasn’t good, but I like the old style resealable/reusable cork top on the brown glass bottle it comes in. Something that I haven’t seen done in a very long time in old photographs from old traditional brewing ways from the brewing companies over in Germany, Holland and Switzerland used to do back in the good ole days.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  14. Erik In Phoenix, Az

    On a second note, about the comment that someone said that the guy from a distance looks like Jesus, I think that he reminds me of the Guy who played Al Borlin from Tim Allen’s tv show Home Improvement. All he needs to do is put on a multicolored plaid shirt on.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  15. Molly

    This root beer popped up in N.C. late last year at convenience stores. They were selling at 69 cents, so I bought one. It’s not my favorite root beer, but when I can’t find Sioux City Sarsaparilla (which I’ve only found at Cracker Barrels across the U.S.), it works. It’s also a great price. There’s a LOT of flavor and maybe a little too much. But every now and then, it’s good.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  16. RBVegas

    The best root beer I have every tried, the bummer is I cannot find it anywhere.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  17. Joshua

    You can’t beat it. It is good for you and tastes really good. It’s made with spices and herbs.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  18. Corbett's Burgers & Soda Bar

    Just a “heads” up, we’re opening in Cary, NC at the end of May and will carry over 45 different glass bottled root beers and over 250 different glass bottled sodas.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  19. Ashley K.

    This is possibly my least favorite root beer ever. I believe the only reason for this is that I hate black licorice, and this rb is pretty much liquid licorice with a hint of rb. We actually held a rb taste test for my 17th birthday, and Virgil’s was the reviled loser (out of approx. 15 rbs). I love root beer but always cringe when I find out that Virgil’s is all the resturant has. As a side note, I love Virgil’s black cheery soda. (Please excuse my typing, I’m on my phone.)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  20. Ken C

    Great root beer, well rounded taste, if a little heavy on the licorice and wintergreen. Im no rb snob, but it sure beats most others imo.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  21. TREY

    I don’t think they should be allowed to call this root beer. I think they should have to call it “Black Licorice Soda” I bought a case on the interwebs because I am a total root beer nerd, so you can imagine how disappointed I was when I cracked it open and basically poured liquid black licorice in my face……I hate black licorice.. My BFF and I are constantly trying new root beers to try to one up each others. So far he’s winning with Sprechers, I’m in a close second with Henry Weinhardts but this “Black Licorice Soda” comes in dead last… I feel like I paid a lot of money for root beer and was lied to…. If I’d know how overwhelmingly Licoricey it was, I wouldn’t have wasted my money!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  22. larry

    Picked up a four-pack at Trader Joes for about four dollars. Smooth and mellow. I had hoped it would have a more pronounced herbal taste — but was disappointed to find it slightly blander than I had expected. I’ll have to compare it to the less expensive IBC brand.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  23. Robert M

    Very sweet root beer. When I put some ice cream with it it became very creamy and delicious.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  24. Good Drinks

    Every root beer is different. Its a type of soda, and they all balance the flavors differently. My personal favorites are Virgils number one, and Henry Weinhardts number two. Virgils cream soda is in my top two for that category as well (a wisconsin brand with a yellow jacket or bumblebee on it is tied with it), and number one in black cherry cream soda. Henry W’s is in my top two for orange cream soda, but virgils isnt because it tastes more like sparkling orange sprite and isnt creamy enough for me (does have a nice crisp bite to it though). If you dont like anise/ licorice then you wont like it as much as the other root beers that are heavier on the wintergreen. Virgil’s is actually a bit light on the wintergreen taste, but it ‘s a good balance and very unique. Id much rather have virgils root beer than an IBC, Daddy’s, A&W, or supermarket brand root beer. Looking forward to trying Dr. Better by Virgils.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  25. Johnn

    This is the worst rootbeer I ever tasted. I took two drinks and dumped the rest before I got sick enough to get my stomach pumped. To me, it had that extra molasses taste, not sure about licorice because I do not like licorice. I think those that gave it a high rating are being paid to lie about it. I want my money back!!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  26. leroy

    I’ve been buying this product for years. it’s the best root beer out there. the reviewer said the man on the bottle looks like JC, that has never crossed my mind all these years. I still don’t see it. some folks bring a bias on anything they observe however. that is their hang-up.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  27. The Sanity Cruzer

    Horrible soda which seems to have been improperly labeled as Root Beer. The only root beer which I have tried and is worse than Virgil’s is Bundaberg. Urgh! Bundaberg (and Virgil’s) is to Root Beer as Taco Bell is to Mexican food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  28. Steve

    I find this one to have a poor head and not enough bite. A bit too sweet overall. It’s not bad, but I’d give it a 7.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  29. Dan

    This is sooo goooood! Well balanced, sweet, delicious, and all around very flavorful.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>