Henry Weinhard’s Root Beer

Henry Weinhard Root Beer
Standard

Our Review: 3.0/10
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Visitor Rating: 8.5/10
(83 votes cast)

There are not a lot of good things to say about this root beer.  While it was so unremarkable that I can barely recall enough about it to write a review, the words “tinny”, “bland”, “flat”, “smooth”, and “light” come to bind.  It definitely lacks pizzaz.  Like many other root beers, they seem to be relying on the old-fashioned bottle design to convince the consumer that this is a tasty old-fashioned root beer, rather than the stainless-steel factory product that it really is.

Henry Weinhard's Root Beer, reviewed by Aristophanes on 2011-02-13T05:00:00+00:00 rating 3.0 out of 10

68 thoughts on “Henry Weinhard’s Root Beer

  1. Prime

    Aristophanes, you ain’t no Aristotle with that review. HW is good brew.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +22 (from 26 votes)
    • Eduardo

      Agree Prime. I’ve been around, and HW is quite fine. Aristophanes missed the mark on this one.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  2. Reiterate

    It’s my number 1. Admittedly, it is extremely sweet, smooth and creamy. You must love Barq’s if you hate this.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +26 (from 28 votes)
    • Bill

      I agree, after five minutes of foam I have a sweet liquid smoke. just not root beer. Try AW it is better than a bottler using liquid smoke and foam. At the end of that there is no root beer to drink. Sorry.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  3. ronnyber

    This review is a joke right? I have been drinking root beer for 45 years and this is the best one I have ever tasted.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +23 (from 25 votes)
  4. ronnyber

    should mention that after discovering Henry’s in early 2010 I no longer drink any other Root Beer. 10/10

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +18 (from 20 votes)
  5. Rbro

    I have had rootbeer from all over the world and this is one of the best I have tasted. The reviewer should stick to their Ketchup sandwiches washed down with Kool-Aid!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +17 (from 17 votes)
  6. Jon

    Just popped open one, and man was it disappointing. It literally taste like a bottle of cream and vanilla extract with a root beer candy left in there to dissolve. After tasting Thomas Kemper the same day, who would ever buy this horrible excuse for root beer again. It is a decent drink, but has no root beer taste at all. No bite, goes down thick, no root beer taste and a hefty price tag, No Thanks.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -12 (from 14 votes)
  7. Chris

    I definitely would not trust the reviewer thoughts. This is the best root beer I have had. I would at least try it for yourself.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +13 (from 15 votes)
  8. Prinz...

    Good quality Root Beer…Great foamy head when poured…Good all around taste…But it goes flat rather quickly – just about when I finished the bottle…Good RB, but run of the mill…

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 5 votes)
  9. MrGentlemn

    After reading this review, I wouldn’t put much faith in the reviewer. Henry Weinhard’s has a great flavor and excellent hint of honey with a very good aftertaste.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +10 (from 12 votes)
  10. Kat

    Who posts a review when you have nothing to say? Weinhards root beer is awful, but give a reason why. It tastes of bubble gum candy and costs a fortune. Snake River ftw!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -6 (from 10 votes)
  11. inciter

    I enjoy the fact that the soda isn’t really fizzy, as I have a hard time drinking heavily carbonated drinks.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  12. RB Vegas

    The reviewer needs to have his taste bud fixed. This is th second best RB ever, Virgil’s is first.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 7 votes)
    • Robert Earl Groeling "Robert's Rare Root Beers"

      I appreciate this since both HW and Virgil’s are both gourmet root beer with strong tastes of Honey, Vanilla, or Licorice.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  13. Wraith

    This is an excellent root beer, best I ever have had, my only complaint is the price bit I would pay twice that for this drink.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 7 votes)
  14. Myrddin

    Weinhard’s root beer is the best I’ve ever had. But a very close second, maybe even tying Henry’s for first, is Sprecher’s. These two brands are straight from Root Beer Heaven.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 7 votes)
  15. Root beer guy

    I love this root beer. I like head head on it. The head gets so big even tho there is almost no root beer left

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  16. Jared

    I grew up with this amazing rootbeer I’d give anything for it to be available where I live now if you find it do yourself a favor and buy it!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
    • Robert Earl Groeling "Robert's Rare Root Beers"

      Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  17. TREY

    I don’t know where this reviewer came from but this RB is awesome! I like to consider myself a root beer connoisseur, I drink tons of the stuff and this RB kills it! Its a little heavy at first but the more you drink, the better it gets! This guys is crazy!! Virgils is his #1 pick?!? That stuff tastes like alcohol free Jaegermifter!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 7 votes)
    • Robert Earl Groeling "Robert's Rare Root Beers"

      That is a very interesting comment. This is a lot of insight here.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  18. MELODY HIGHMAN

    Weinhard’s ROCKS! Flavor is complex! Might this reviewer be a competitor – or did he even REALLY drink a bottle ?!? In NO way can Weinhard’s be considered flat. Do handle the bottle with care as the foam will spill everywhere if you are jerking the bottle around quickly. I came upon this site because our local store has been out of Weinhard’s for the past two weeks and I NEED to locate another store. Can you believe I actually checked with the Store Manager?? I have chosen to be “root beer – less” during this time until new stock comes in. 🙁

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
  19. Teffty

    Okay WTF is wrong with you?! I go to the next page and you rave about shasta root beer? Yet, HW you give terrible reviews. Normally I do not even care to post of tell my opinion because I think its a waste of time. But you sir! are a joke to society and should be punished for your crimes of falsely reporting on rootbeer! How dare you! How dare you taint the name of HWs near perfection root beer! And SHASTA! F#$king shasta you give a good review to! Was it drugs that altered your taste buds? I do not know. But something is definitely wrong.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  20. Vanroth

    HW root beer is very delicious, specially for those who love the extra smooth and creamy stuff. However if you want an extremely sharp vanilla taste I recommend Frostop, specially their Diet, its such a strong vanilla flavor that it can be easily described as a bottle of liquefied root beer candies.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  21. Kirk

    You’re a moron. Henry Weinhard’s is the best root beer I have ever had in my mouth.

    Moron.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  22. AZTXOHCA

    Agree with all the reviews who think some folks giving negative reviews here need their taste buds fixed. HW is the best root beer, bar none. (and I’ve tried at least half on this list.) Amazing pour, flavor, etc. And if the calories are too much, then you’ve got to try Saranac Diet Root Beer. Another great root beer but without the calories.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  23. Bryan

    I used to drink all of the Weinhard’s sodas. About 10 years ago, I remember popping the top off, taking a swig, and I knew right away that the recipe had been changed. Sure enough, the original company had been bought out by a beer company, and it was now being made with HF corn syrup. I won’t touch a soda with it in; I can really taste the difference. I no longer drink Weinhard’s because of it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    • Brian B

      Ummm… the original company WAS a beer company. Weinhards had brewed beer in the NW for over a century; the root beer was how they survived prohibition. But yeah, they got bought out by a bigger bev co. Disappointing, but it’s still good root beer.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
      • Dan M

        Weinhards got bought out by the HUGE conglomerate SABMiller and corporate greed has RUINED this once great root beer.
        This is now being made in Plano Tx with much inferior ingredients than it once enjoyed.

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        • Superdrero

          It is now just a shadow of it’s former self. It used to be barrel aged and made with honey, And was second to none. Now that they have changed it up, I have a hard time justifying the price for mediocrity.

          VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
          Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  24. Eddie Hagler

    Deep Dark, low, almost no fizz. very subdued sweetness only 1 notch above bitter. It is a forgettable flavor. A good dinner drink, will not steal the show but has a refreshing taste.

    You are mercifully spared the over sweet taste of more commercial root beers.

    It seems to be brewed for the adult taste bud.
    I found it enjoyable and relaxing to drink. It does not insult or assault your mouth like a ten year old running through the room.

    All that being said the flavor does not have a lasting impact or very much depth. It is easy to drink because it lacks sweetness ( a good thing) but it also lacks depth of flavor.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  25. ken

    I’m Addicted to this literally , but i would like to get a hold of the company to complain about 1 thing. I have had 5 bottles just pop there tops for no reason.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  26. Freddie Baccari

    Greatest Root beer. I drink a lot of Root beer. It really is the best by far. I’ve been drinking it my whole life. I’ve tried hundreds of root beer. IBC is good as well but doesn’t compare to Henry Weinhard’s. The also have amazing beer that is really hard to get your hands on. This reviewer didn’t do his homework at all or is not qualified.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    • Dan M

      This H W now being produced by the huge conglomerate SABMiller is NO WHERE close to what it once was. Sad but true. I loved H W before the buy out, but can’t touch the stuff now.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  27. Jim H

    I was very surprised to see this review. I recently told a friend that this is the best root beer available. I’ve tried most of the root beers on the market and no other even comes close to Henry’s.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  28. Jason

    This isn’t a review it’s an opinion piece with little information to let people decide if they will like it. However together with the comments it is a little bit better. From the two combined a uninformed drinker of root beer could gather that the writer of the review likes fizz and bite in his root beer, while most of the readers like how sweet and smooth the root beer is. It isn’t important really whether people like it or not, so much as why, so that others can decide based on that information, whether they will like it themselves. Having been a fan of HW root beer since 2001 I can say that I too like the vanilla and honey flavors they use in this root beer, and its full head is the best use of carbonation.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  29. Lon

    This is one of the best I tasted, although filled with Sodium and uses HFCS. Surprised you did not like this with the high HFCS and sodium content, like Barq’s. Another thing I found in reviews is I have had a bad bottle to test. When it is disgusting I give it a few more tries and often I fine it was a bad bottle. Like Capone, I loved it but the second bottle was rancid…

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  30. Dan M

    SABMiller has ruined this once great root beer. Anything to turn a profit for the share holders of that conglomerate. First thing they did was shut down the Weinhard Brewery in Oregon, moved operations to Texas where labor was cheaper and the first change with reformulating was to start using much cheaper high fructose corn syrup….

    All you H W followers are but frogs in a pot on the stove….

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  31. Perhaps your taste buds were on vacation that day. Or perhaps you had a bottle that was not representative of this excellent beverage. Or perhaps you have no business reviewing root beer after all. An overwhelming majority of the comments agree that HW is one the best things on the market. I happen to agree with the majority in this case. The one comment that agreed with you (that I saw) mentioned a hefty price tag. Are you smoking dope? Yeah, compared to Shasta, maybe. Compared to a majority of bottled root beers, HW is one of the less expensive options, and it happens to be the best thing that you can buy in a bottle.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  32. Robert Earl Groeling "Robert's Rare Root Beers"

    This is the truffles of root beers. It is great! People who dislike Henry Weinhard like extreme levels of soda water.
    Some like thick syrup and some like little syrup and tons of
    soda water with less taste. It does have a strong taste of vanilla and honey. It is a gourmet root beer. America went through a revolution in root beer taste with gourmet root beers brews in the late 90’s. HW was on the front of this change in taste.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  33. Graham D

    Far and away the best tasting Root Beer I’ve ever tried. From it’s unbeatable head to awesome aftertaste, there is a reason why it is the highest rated product from the people who took the time to write in.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  34. Jeff Evans

    You people are high. A 3? Maybe you drank a 12 pack of the HW beer before this test.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  35. Melanie

    I had my first one yesterday and I love it. My problem is finding a store that sells them. I’m in spring Texas. Can anyone help me please.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  36. Torakhan

    Creamy, smooth, sweet, vanilla, with a foamy head.

    For a “foodie” who’s looking for something unique, this isn’t going to excite your adventurous pallet.
    This root beer isn’t complex; it doesn’t have a bitter bite, it doesn’t have experimental spices, and it doesn’t have an aftertaste like a chemical fire. This isn’t a Birch Beer either. This root beer is a bit heavy after a few bottles because of the sweetness, but you probably shouldn’t be pounding back root-beers like cheap beer anyways.

    While this root beer isn’t “exceptional” in any experimental way, it certainly is the flavor profile I enjoy for a root beer (and I too have tried quite a few.)

    Another brand that I find very similar to is Berghoff’s Root Beer.

    In West Michigan, I have found this root becoming much more available in places like Meijer’s, and Spartan stores.
    Gas stations and liquor stores tend to sell Berghoff’s more than Weinhard’s.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  37. von

    I’m new to drinking different kinds of root beer, but this one immediately became my favorite root beer above the common brands including Barq’s, A&W, and Mug. This reviewer has a very different sense of taste.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  38. aleen f stone

    Bad stuff…way to sweet. and no bite… I made the mistake of getting a twelve pack as Im not a fan of real beer and my son who is a forensic psychiatrist and an excellent judge of beer and wine loved Henry W’s wheaten for years but has switched now to a good wine. The original Hires Rootbeer was excellent and had a bit of bitter aftertaste that was very satisfying,, But even Hires changed to a sweeter..blah recipe and then it went out of business However I just discovered that H,W.’s root beer has been selling for over 5 years so there are enough people who do like it to “keep coming back”

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  39. aleen f stone

    P,S…..”too sweet “. not ” to sweet” and if TREY drinks tons of it, a word of caution TREY, Sugar is a type of “poison” and a preservative..and it causes a number of health problems if one has an addiction to it..My son, the forensic psychiatrist, would agree that tons of any ultra sweet concoction may well lead to a malaise even diabetes.. Yes there is such a thing as

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *