Mug Root Beer

Standard

Our Review: 4.5/10
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Visitor Rating: 6.8/10
(45 votes cast)

Mug Root Beer is a common canned grocery-store soda that shows up at company BBQs and in multi-soda variety packs everywhere.  It is a syrupy and very sweet candy-like root beer designed to satisfy the masses, not impress the aficionado.  It has a creamy texture and a slight citrus tang.  There is no hint of earthiness or spicyness. The flavour lingers on the tongue.

Mug Root Beer, reviewed by Aristophanes on 2009-04-20T02:34:05+00:00 rating 4.5 out of 10

24 thoughts on “Mug Root Beer

  1. Yates

    I agree, too sweet and candy like. Also just like Hires root beer from a can, seems like you taste the can too.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 5 votes)
    • KnyteOwl

      The canned, ‘tinny taste’ is inevitable. You get that from any canned product, not just drinks, so if you’re going to knock Mug for that, you need to hold other non bottled brands to the same standard unless this is just a bash fest. To me, Mug isn’t bad, it’s just an unremarkable, “ho hum” root beer. For me, Dr. Brown’s ranks as one of the worst root beers I’ve ever tried, bar none. I suppose you could do worse if you want to get into sub generic store brands, but that’s to be expected in that price bracket, so if you like torturing your taste buds, feel free, but better you than me. . .

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  2. John

    Y’all are nuts, its a wonderful, sweet, delicious party root beer. Just because it tastes sweet without a bitter, punching aftertaste does not mean it is a bad root beer.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
  3. mug is puke

    mug root beer is puke’n’poo. anyone who likes the way it tastes is a brain degenare. only a complete tasteless moron would like it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -11 (from 13 votes)
  4. ur mom

    i did a taste test fellas and i proved that mug was the worst root beer

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 5 votes)
  5. Deltaboy

    Too much Wintergreen after taste for me. Taste better in the 2 liter bottle but still too much Wintergreen.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  6. John

    About the only time I’ll touch Mug is if I’m at a bar. “Do you have root beer?” “Sure do.” The glass of Mug comes…. Fountain is preferable to bottled, which is one of the worst root beers I’ve ever had. Just incredibly bland in the bottle.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  7. THIS ROOT BEER IS NOTHING LIKE THE ROOT BEER THAT I USED TO DRINK AS A TEEN-AGER……………THE ROOT BEER THAT I DRANK HAD A GREAT ROOT BEER FLAVOR……ABOUT ALL ONE CAN TASTE IN THIS IS THE 43% SUGAR…….ALSO LISTES AS NO CAFFEINE…..WELL, IF THE CAFFEINE WAS ADDED PERHAPS IT WOULD MAKE A DIFFERANCE………SO, ANYONE THAT THINKS THIS ROOT BEER IS GREAT HAS NO TASTE BUDS ORE IS JUST STUPID.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -5 (from 5 votes)
    • Burr

      Caffeine doesn’t have flavor, so not sure what you mean there. Also if you’re going to call people “stupid” you should know that “teenager” has no hyphen,”lists” doesn’t have an “E” in it, “Difference” doesn’t have an “A” in it, and “ORE” is a rock that contains metal.

      I do however agree that MUG isn’t very good.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
      • KnyteOwl

        Root beer is usually a naturally caffeine-free product. Barq’s is the only brand of root beer I’ve ever seen that has caffeine, and since caffeine doesn’t have flavor, it neither contributes to, nor detracts from the flavor profile.

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. CJ

    Drinking some mug root beer now, tastes like nail polish remover smells. Yuck!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    • Dan

      Actually, Liquorice plant is a major ingredient when making root beer. Every root beer uses it, but Mug root beer just uses too much

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  9. Burr

    Am I the only person that thinks MUG tastes like onion? And not in a good way…

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  10. ed keen

    Mug rootbeer in glass sweetened with cane sugar is much better, as all sodas are. HFCS is not the way to go.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  11. Sean and Shaun

    Perfect for a brown cow. You can just taste the sasafras. It’s not barq’s so there isn’t any bite but the natural taste is enough for me. I’ll sip on one any day.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  12. KnyteOwl

    I don’t personally see Mug as being altogether terrible, I just tend to think of it as a very average, “ho hum” root beer which definitely aims to satisfy your sweet tooth. To me, you can certainly do worse for root beers; strangely enough, only Walmart has a store brand root beer that I would consider “decent” (as far as store brands go). I would also rate Mug above brands like Faygo, Shasta, Fanta, Dr. Brown’s, and Barq’s, while falling just behind brands like Dad’s, A&W, and Frostie. I do tend to find the flavor profile simplistic, unsophisticated, and quite sweet, but not to the point of being intolerable.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  13. Dustin

    This root beer is bottom of the barrel. (pun intended) The flavor is missing the bite of a truly good root beer. As mass produced root beers go, Barq’s, Dad’s, and A&W are all much, much better.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *